UK Bank Holidays 2023: Time to Book a Holiday?

UK Bank Holidays

UK Bank Holidays is the ever-so-popular list that gets us all excited every year! Knowing what day a bank holiday falls on allows us to prepare for long weekends away.

Below you’ll find a list of UK bank holidays in 2023 to help start saving those pennies, or at the very least, understand the best time to book a holiday.

Before moving on, it’s important to note that we have an additional bank holiday in 2023!

This new bank holiday is associated with the king's coronation, so be sure to include the “8th of May” in your holiday preparation phase.

Bank Holidays 2023

England and Wales

  • 2 January - Monday - New Year’s Day (substitute day)
  • 7 April - Friday - Good Friday
  • 10 April - Monday - Easter Monday
  • 1 May - Monday - Early May bank holiday
  • 29 May - Monday - Spring bank holiday
  • 28 August - Monday - Summer bank holiday
  • 25 December - Monday - Christmas Day
  • 26 December - Tuesday - Boxing Day

Scotland

  • 2 January - Monday - New Year’s Day (substitute day)
  • 3 January - Tuesday - 2nd January (substitute day)
  • 7 April - Friday - Good Friday
  • 10 April - Monday - Easter Monday
  • 1 May - Monday - Early May bank holiday
  • 29 May - Monday - Spring bank holiday
  • 7 August - Monday - Summer bank holiday
  • 30 November - Thursday - St Andrew's Day
  • 25 December - Monday - Christmas Day
  • 26 December - Tuesday - Boxing Day

Northern Ireland

  • 2 January - Monday - New Year’s Day (substitute day)
  • 17 March - Friday - St Patrick's Day
  • 7 April - Friday - Good Friday
  • 10 April - Monday - Easter Monday
  • 1 May - Monday - Early May bank holiday
  • 29 May - Monday - Spring bank holiday
  • 12 July - Wednesday - Battle of Boyne (Orangemen's Day)
  • 28 August - Monday - Summer bank holiday
  • 25 December - Monday - Christmas Day
  • 26 December - Tuesday - Boxing Day

Related blog posts:

Conclusion

Taking the time to understand and craft a list for the year, will help you understand the associated cost if you plan to take long weekends away.

Author

Author image

Terry Wingfield

A software engineer Monday to Friday, and an avid Chapel St Leonards weekend warrior. Terry enjoys many weekends away walking the beaches of Chapel St Leonards with his family, and the family dog, Skye.